Review: Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother   Leave a comment

Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother
Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother by Amy Chua
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I gave this book 4 stars immediately after reading it. I had raced through, wondering what this lady was going to do next. However after a few days of contemplation I changed my attitude. The author is this super intelligent woman who has an academic role at a leading university. I don’t think that this book is in her normal writing style. Who cares? Well I think I do. I feel a bit patronised as a reader. Maybe I’ve just got the ‘nothing to read’ blues but I think it’s more. I’ve been writing a children’s book over the last few days and I’m finding myself using more simplistic language than I would for say a YA book. This is because I know that most YA readers will have more words in their reading vocabulary than most under 10s. Looking back at this book it strikes me that the author perhaps wrote down to her audience (ie me) and now I feel a bit disheartened. Initially I liked the book because it was such an easy read, now I’m wondering if it being such an easy read has ruined it for me.

Anyway the book offered an interesting insight into how the author has chose to raise her two daughters. Whilst her methods are unconventional (in the UK) they have obviously worked for her. I don’t think I’ll be taking any parenting tips from her but I appreciate that she really does want the best for her kids.

View all my reviews

Posted April 7, 2012 by Susan in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

